Funerals


I am attending a funeral of a friend who passed away far too soon. He was doing what he loved to do, helping people. Seems a neighbor asked him to look at their cloth dryer which was not work properly. Being the wonderful guy he was, while looking at the dryer, apparently his hand slipped and he received several hundred volts at high amperage. As I drifted through the room I heard many stories of his kindness and willingness to help other people. People talked about his smile and his pleasant nature and his desire to help. We weren’t close friends by any measure but I new him and actually helped him put a roof on his dads house several years ago. He was a good person and a friend to many.

As I listened to all the kind statements used to describe him, I wondered how many of these people expressed their feeling to him when he was with us. I have been to many funerals and listened to many wonderful things said about a person who has passed and it has always haunted me, wondering if these feeling were expressed to this person while they were alive. I believe in the hustle bustle of everyday life we tend to forget to tell those special people, just how special they are.

I have decided, whenever it is possible, to tell my friends just how special they are to me. I think this simple act could make the world a better place for all of us if we all join in.

2 thoughts on “Funerals

  1. Charlie, I am very sorry to hear of the loss to this man’s family, friends and community. Your post today I think provides a powerfully important reminder to us all – to speak our heartfelt love, gratitude and admiration for the precious folks that we share space with…from dearest and closest kin and friends, to the more casual interactions we might encounter as we go about our day.

    1. Thank you for the compliment. I believe we as a community are forgetting how to love our neighbor.

Leave a comment